Archive for July 14th, 2006

Nominations for Media Awards

American Society on Aging Invites Nominations for Media Awards

Deadline: September 15, 2006

The ASA Media Awards are presented annually by the American Society on Aging ( to journalists whose work has significantly increased general public awareness of aging issues at either the local, regional, or national level.

The ASA Media Awards are designed to recognize and encourage accurate and informed news coverage of our aging society; improve media understanding of the current and future impact of aging on Americans of all ages; and increase public awareness of the various life circumstances of older Americans.

The awards will be presented to journalists for news coverage published between September 1, 2005, and September 1, 2006. Submissions should focus on aging issues, rather than exemplify a range of work. Print, broadcast, and Web media journalists are eligible to apply.

Awards will be presented in two categories: 1) for media intended for and distributed to a national audience; and 2) for media intended for and distributed to a local or regional audience. For journalists with elder-specific publications or productions, the work is eligible if it has demonstrated general public impact.

Complete program information is available at the ASA Web site.

RFP Link:

For additional RFPs in Journalism/Media, visit:

Site Search Tags: ,


Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity Awards

American Academy of Nursing Seeks Applications for Building Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity Awards Program

Deadline: January 9, 2007

The John A. Hartford Foundation ( recognizes the centrality of nurses to the care of older adults. In 2000, and in partnership with the American Academy of Nursing ( ), JAHF launched a multi-million-dollar Building Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity Scholars Award Program to produce expert researchers, academicians, and practitioners who will lead the field of gerontology nursing and ultimately improve the care of the elderly. The program includes the distinguished Scholar & Fellow Awards Program.

The Scholar & Fellow Awards Program seeks applicants for the following scholarships and fellowships:

The Predoctoral Scholarship program is designed to support two years of doctoral work for nurses committed to careers in academic geriatric nursing. The program offers support at the
level of $30,000 in stipend and up to $20,000 in tuition and fee support for each of two years.

The Masters in Business Administration Scholarship program is designed to support one year of work toward a Masters in Business Administration or related degree. The program provides a total of $50,000 in support.

The Postdoctoral Fellowship program provides $60,000 of support for each of two years of advanced research training and mentorship designed to assist doctorally prepared nurses
committed to faculty careers in geriatric nursing.

The Mayday Fund provides an additional $5,000 award to selected candidates whose research includes the study of pain in the elderly.

Visit the Building Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity Web site for complete program guidelines and application information.

RFP Link:

For additional RFPs in Aging, visit:

Site Search Tags: , , , , ,

O’Folks (off their rocker)

Old age isn't a disease.

Arctic sunset

© header image

Comments how-tos

For those new to blogs, check out this post *commenting on blogs* Recent comments, on the sidebar blogroll, often have additional or complementary information. Recent revisions of posts themselves may be found by using the search box for "revised". Tech support says spam (ads or worse) is hitting WordPress heavily so if you don't see your comment in 24 hours, send an E-mail and TS will check the spam trap.

RSS BHIC Bringing Health Info to the Community

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.


RSS Nonagenarian news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
July 2006
« Jun   Aug »

Haeremai Camai Bula Bepuwave Bienvenidos

  • 196,348 visitors